Baby Heartbreak For Vanessa Carlton As She Undergoes Emergency Surgery Following Ectopic Pregnancy

‘I announced that I was pregnant during the first week of tour. The day after our NYC show on Oct 15th, I was diagnosed with an ectopic pregnancy, or in my case it was a fallopian pregnancy (the embryo settled in my tube, which is the width of a straw),’ she wrote. ‘This is not considered a viable pregnancy because the fetus cannot develop and it is a high risk situation for the mother because of the potential for tubal rupture and internal bleeding. Unforeseen complication: The 33-year-old A Thousand Miles hitmaker was receiving chemo treatment to shrink the embryo and save her tube when it ruptured, forcing her to undergo emergency surgery to remove the tube altogether ‘We caught it relatively early so I was given a shot of Methotrexate, a mild chemotherapy instead of having surgery. This would hopefully shrink the pregnancy and save my tube. My doctors didn’t want me leaving the city so that I was very close to hospital at all times.’ Sadly, the chemo didn’t have the desired effect and she suffered severe complications resulting in hospitalisation. ‘This past Monday, Oct 28th, 11 days after the chemo shot and despite our best efforts, my tube started to rupture and I was experiencing internal bleeding,’ she details.
For the original version including any supplementary images or video, visit http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2488957/Baby-heartbreak-Vanessa-Carlton-undergoes-emergency-surgery-following-ectopic-pregnancy.html

Pregnancy discrimination top complaint at work

Luckily we know better now. Succesful pregnancies can be achieved! A little over 1,5 year ago I made my first appointment to discuss my wish to be mom. Iwas still on birth control, butbecause Iwasat high risk forthromboembolismI was told to quit the birth control I was on.A DIU was the safest choice for me, but since I was interested in becoming a mom it didn’t make any sense to get one. So I figured this was the time to stop birth control and see where it would lead me.
For the original version including any supplementary images or video, visit http://www.blogher.com/pregnancy-and-klippel-trenaunay-syndrome?crumb=17

Pregnancy and Klippel-Trenaunay Syndrome

The Fair Work Ombudsman revealed more people believe their family responsibilities see them treated differently by their bosses. According to telegraph.com.au, the agency said more women complained to them of poor treatment because of pregnancy in 2012-13, topping discrimination because of physical or mental disability . It is the first time pregnancy has formed the majority of complaints. Workers made 235 complaints to the agency: 28 per cent from pregnant women, 21 per cent from people with physical or mental disabilities and 11 percent from those who felt their family or career responsibilities resulted in them being treated differently, the report said. Australian Council of Trade Unions president Ged Kearney said it was concerning, but ‘sadly, not a surprise’.
For the original version including any supplementary images or video, visit http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/life-style/relationships/work/Pregnancy-discrimination-top-complaint-at-work/articleshow/25320600.cms

Leave a Reply

